Sydneytango milongas
Welcome, Guest User  Click to Login 
Re: CODIGOS

I think it would be a great project for Synergy, but I am very weary of the words collaboration with the Milonga organizers.

As a High School teacher, I can say the relationship that exists between Synergy and the teachers/organizers is similar to the NSW Teachers Federation (Union) and The Department of Education. Whenever anything occurs that is an indication of poor teaching standards which places the department under scrutiny, then this left-wing organisation will say somebody ridiculous to make “fake news”, and the department is grateful and encourages it. You just have to look at the articles on Naplan for example.

I was around when the idea for Synergy was created and would love to see Synergy more independent compared to their current relationship with teachers and organisers.

I think there is already a complete set of codiges that is widely published on the internet and various places.

For example

https://indd.adobe.com/view/f80db3d8-3546-4ef1-9eeb-5337b7cf9ad0?fbclid=IwAR2qC1ulWe4Eb0m1htqCFqw0UG53sgfPiJXX3-XqdbImu89n4FU-XakFtiA

I co-wrote that examples of such codiges - rules of tango etiquette on pages 16 and 17 in the Miranda Magazine which Synergy proudly gives away at their events.

It is not a case that people are not aware of them, it is a case they are not enforced. Or it might be that people are not aware of what real traditional tango is. “Manopolising space on the dance floor” is a very old traditional etiquette of certain better dancers to new and inexperienced ones. So one reason codiges are not enforced is because there is no agreement of what they should be. Secondly, the one you keep mentioning “Talking on floor” when should people talk to each other. Organisers encouraged reserve seating, so the only time to talk to people is on the floor. As DJ’s usually use Itunes etc, there is only a 3 second or so break between songs.