Sydneytango milongas
Welcome, Guest User  Click to Login 
Making newcomers feel welcome

Dear All,

As a relative newcomer to the Tango community in Sydney (I have been dancing for around two years now), I wanted to express my sadness at reading your most recent poll question. Should beginners dance at milongas or should they dance at practicas until they get better etc. For any nervous beginner or even an intermediate dancer still growing in skill and confidence, this question comes across as rather mean spirited. A Milonga is a social dance, and whilst the dancing is very important indeed, I think it's important not to forget the interperpersonal and social aspects. This also means making newcomers and visitors feel welcome. Without new blood in any artform, it is likely to become stale and uninteresting. Also, I wonder how all these very advanced and elite dancers practiced their skills when they where starting out? At Milongas no doubt. I understand that we have favourites and friends that we prefer, but in the course of a whole night would it really hurt so much to have one Tanda with someone not quite at your level?

For any beginner out there who has incurred the wrath of an impatient partner, or who comes across this question, I just wanted to say that there are some very warm, friendly and supportive people out there in the Tango community, and that Tango is not just about technique. In my very short time, I have learnt that the best dancers (and teachers), are those with a generous, warm and supportive spirit, who actually dance with you (as a person). To those gentlemen who have patiently supported my dancing as a beginner, I want to say a very hearty...thankyou.

Besicos

Leche X

Re: Making newcomers feel welcome

Yes this seems to be the way of Tango in Australia, unfortunatly there seems to be a bit of a snob factor in the Tango scene here ie: don't go to a Milonga until you've been dancing for 3 years!